Go Watch a Movie: LOTR: The Return of the King and more Oscar’s fun

January 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

First, to all of you out there making bets that I wouldn’t post on time: hand over the cash, I’m giving you a review!

Second, People’s Choice Awards is on tomorrow night 9pm ET on CBS. Don’t miss it. And after you watch it you’re going to post your thoughts on this blog entry.  Deal? Excellent.

And now, the beginning of the best picture reviews. Beginning with 2003’s winner: Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. To my knowledge you have not had the privilege of seeing my dorky side. But after this you’ll be able to see that I’m much cooler than you thought. And by cooler I mean kind of a nerd.

This movie, the only LOTR that won a best picture was fantastic. It’s been quite some time since I’ve seen it so you’ll have to forgive me some of the details. The cinematography and effects in this film are absolutely unreal. Something you can only understand by watching it.  The story line is gripping, emotional, shows incredible camaraderie and heart. In its year, this movie was nominated for 11 awards at the Oscar’s. And won every. single. one. Still don’t want to watch it? Orlando Bloom is a total dreamboat. Yeah I’m not a fan either. But, there’s a plethora of attractive men to look at it. Don’t knock the fantasy genre till you watch it. This is the kind of movie you just can’t hate.

In other 2003 Oscar news, Billy Crystal was hosting for the 8th time, his 9th being this year’s awards. Sophia Coppola (daughter of Francis Ford Coppola) became the first American woman to be nominated for directing with Lost in Translation. And Finding Nemo won for Best Animated Feature. Because, well, Pixar kicks ass.

There ya have it, the first edition of our Academy Award reviews. I’ll be tweeting during People’s Choice and blogging on Thursday!

I <3 award season (I swear I’m not 12).

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Go Watch a Movie: LOTR: The Return of the King and more Oscar’s fun at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

