If I could do it over…

November 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have always had some sort of passion for art – whether it’s painting, singing, dancing, playing an instrument, etc. My dear mother is an artist and she definitely had a large influence on that. About half way through my college career I began to have a true, deep passion for art, specifically modern art history. I’m not about to go change my major and become an art curator (well not yet, maybe in a few years) because I do love athletic training. But if I were to have this kind of passion when I was in high school, I might be going down a different path right now.

I haven’t had the opportunity to really indulge in my passion for the arts in awhile, with the exception of the last few weeks. I have been listening to classical music, researching artists, and exploring new pieces to play on the piano (gotta wait till I’m home to play them though!) I began to think of my absolute favorite pieces of art – which is an absolutely impossible task. So instead I will show you a few pieces of work that have, at one point, changed my life.

 

1. Joseph Martin’s “The Awakening”

First, it took me forever to find a version that was at least adequate. I wanted to find The Sounds of America performance, but it’s no where to be found and I can’t post it from my computer. This version is fine, but just isn’t what I really wanted.

I had the privilege of singing this song my sophomore year of high school with the greatest group of people imaginable. It was a great year for our choir and when our spectacular director told us we were doing this piece hearts broke across the room. We worked so hard that semester on every piece and the final performance left a lasting legacy. This will forever make me miss my high school choir and everything that came with it. Thank you to every person in SWHS 2007 Concert Choir and Mrs. Erika Mckee for making it so memorable.

 

2. Beethoven’s Sonata no. 8 in C Minor Op. 13 1st Movement “Sonata Pathetique”

My senior year of high school I had an independent study in piano and focused on this piece. I wish I was more driven during my senior year (I just wanted to get out of there!) because I am still, 3 years later, still working on it. Beethoven is an utter genius; hearing anyone play this song melts my heart and throws me into a fit of jealousy because my fingers can’t keep up. The changes from minor to major keys are stunning and take my breath away.

 

3. Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major

This piece makes me speechless. I will be close to tears every single time I hear this song. And no one plays it quite like Yo-Yo Ma does.

 

4. Jackson Pollock’s “Number 13A: Arabesque”

I saw this in the Yale University Art Gallery and I cried. I’m not kidding. This man can paint and it moves me. I’ve spoken about him before so I won’t go into too much detail. The mere fact that he can evoke such emotion with splatters of paint on a canvas is astounding.

 

5. Picasso’s “Blue Nude”

My parents had purchased a copy of this painting to hang in our house and ever since they showed it to me I fell in love. It’s so simple and beautiful and understated. Yes, Picasso, you are awesome.

 

6. Degas’ “Little Dancer”

I have also had the privilege of seeing this masterpiece in person. As a dancer, I am so drawn to Degas’ work. His paintings are just as beautiful but this piece of work just resonates with me. I love how he takes such a dainty subject and gives it a rugged edge and yet it’s still so graceful. Bravo.

Give me two more weeks and I could come up with a more adequate list, but this is what I’ve got.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading If I could do it over… at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

