Go Watch a Movie: Whip It!

July 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

Saw this movie when it came out in theaters and it was just on cable the other day. I. Love. This. Movie. The story is a classic do-what-you-love-no-matter-what-anyone-says triumph but everything about this movie makes me giddy.

Drew Barrymore’s debuts as a director with this film. And I must say, she can make some cinema. To begin, the soundtrack is excellent. Super fun and so up my alley. Real indie tunes, but not the super weird indie stuff. The fun happy indie stuff. (I’m such a hippie). The story, of course, is totally fun and inspiring. But the cast. Killer. Ellen Page is endearing and loveable. Kristing Wiig, well I just want to be her. No seriously, I would do anything to be her. Drew Barrymore is just absolutely fun and crazy and hysterical. Juliette Lewis plays the perfect [insert derogatory term here] that you love to hate but don’t actually hate. This movie, every single time I watch it, makes me want to become a roller derby chick. No joke I get in this  crazy weird mood where I put on black skinny jeans, a gray v-neck tee, and put my hair in a messy side pony and pretend I’m a super cool, badass, roller derby..ist (?). I’m trying to come up with a great name. I love “Bloody Holly” and “Smashley Simpson” – But I really can’t just steal from the movie, ya know? Help me out here. Definitely changing my career path. You should too. Or you could just watch this movie and pretend like me.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Go Watch a Movie: Whip It! at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

