Here’s to the end of the world!

May 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

We are just about 24 hours from the return of the Lord. I know, I can’t believe it either. So I figured I’d give you one more “greatest post ever” post. It’s a lot of pressure figuring out what the last post on your blog ever should be. I thought forever and ever. Movie suggestion? Review? Music critique? Top Ten List? I couldn’t decide. And considering that I plan on waking up at 6:30 Sunday morning to go see my brother graduate, I didn’t waste much time on the whole deciding thing.

This afternoon I finished the movie Kick Ass. It was instant on Netflix and I hadn’t seen yet so I figured… Why not!? I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. The lead hero was incredibly endearing, the concept was fun and entertaining. It wasn’t all butterflies and rainbows. Lots of blood. Lots of punching and stabbing and shooting and blowing up. Pretty impressed. And guess what? I didn’t hate Nicholas Cage! I actually kind of liked tolerated him. But my favorite by far was the spunky little girl who can literally kick ass.

I was always a fan of the underestimated girl (usually a small child) that surprises everyone and is the best character by far.  Like Emily Osment in Spy Kids (don’t lie, you watched it). Her dad (Nicholas Cage) trains her for years to be a world class assassin. Training goes to the extent of her father shooting her in the chest to help her learn what it feels like to be shot. Plus she’s a pro with the knives! So cool yeah? Here’s one of my favorite scenes. Near the end of the movie, all the killing is left to Hit Girl – the small little girl and she, well, annihilates.

That sweet move in the beginning? Knife through the hand, wrap the rope around the head, make the guy shoot himself in the head? So cool! You go Hit Girl.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Here’s to the end of the world! at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

