This I am certain of

January 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Over the past year or so I’ve really started to figure out who I am and who I want to be. I’ve always been all over the place when it comes to what style I want, what hobbies I want to be interested in. I’ve never had one consistent interest throughout my entire life; I’m interested in a lot of things. Lately, I’ve discovered things that I know to be true about myself – like things that I like and things that I don’t prefer. Let’s discuss these.

I don’t like snoring. This I know for sure. I am quite aware that the actual person snoring can’t help themselves – I know that they aren’t doing it on purpose, but I. Hate. Snoring. It’s nothing personal, it’s just that the rough sound of the incapability to breathe in the middle of the night that drives me crazy. Snore. Silence. Snore. Silence. Snore. Silence. Every exhale you are hoping they’ve regained their ability to breathe with soundless effort so you can rest in the peace of the night. I’ve had 3 roommates since I’ve started college, and all of them snore; even my sister – with whom I share a room at home – snores on occasion. Not chronically, but every once and awhile I feel like ripping my hair out. Thankfully, I’m slightly more tolerant of it than I used to be. Nevertheless, I truly don’t prefer it.

I like Sharpie Pens. This is a new writing utensil, at least within the last year or two. It’s really tremendous. You get the saturated black color you want with a Sharpie marker, but it doesn’t bleed onto the next 5 pages. Also, it has a very thin line so details on no problem at all. I do a lot of my sketches with this kind of pen because it makes my chaotic scribbles look pretty and full of purpose.

I really do not prefer the winter (or the cold). For those of you that know me, you know this very well. I am a summer baby through and through. The sunshine, the daylight until 8 or 9pm, driving with your windows down, no coats, no shoes, tank tops, trees, grass. I love all of it. Certainly I can find the beauty during the winter, but I do so from inside my home wrapped in 6 blankets. I’m more myself in the warmer weather.

I enjoy dressing up. There are many times in my life where I love to wear jeans and a sweatshirt or sweatpants and a t-shirt. I like the outdoors and don’t mind getting dirty. But there is a part of me that absolutely loves being a girly girl. I like skirts and dresses, nice shirts and especially cardigans. I don’t often have an excuse to look nice, considering I’m an allied health major and need to wear “work out clothes” most the time. But when I do get to dress up I go all the way. For example, both of my roommates are away until tomorrow afternoon. So today after my shower I decided to look nice for no reason. So I put on some patterned tights, a nice skirt with a tucked in tank top (light pink even!) and wrapped my new fashion belt around my waist. I had nowhere to go, but I really enjoyed looking cute and dressed up for once.

I hate when people do not use proper grammar or spelling. Disclaimer: I am not a grammar queen. I’m not talking about parallel sentences or using passive vs. active voice. Heck you can even end your sentence with a preposition (I do sometimes). I just want a sentence without a double negative, maybe a correctly used comma or semicolon, or maybe, just maybe an actual adverb used to describe a verb, adjective or other adverb. Spelling, however, I think I’m pretty good at. Sixth grade spelling bee champ in case you were curious. Let’s use the correct homonym or even completely spell the word out. “U” does not mean “you”, “2” does not mean “too” nor does it mean “to”, “do” does not mean “due”. These things are not interchangeable.

I like coloring. The wall next my bed is covered with coloring pages of Disney princesses, dinosaurs, jungle animals, and lots of Nemo. I love coloring. It’s so much fun picking on the colors and making a completely plain picture look exciting just buy using a few crayons. My roommate got me a coloring book for Christmas – what a perfect gift.

Gotta run, more to come. Farewell for now my friends.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This I am certain of at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

