Envelopes and Stamps. Remember those?

January 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve set three (fourish) new years resolutions that I can actually keep this time. And so far, I’ve done remarkably well. 1) Take more pictures 2) Send snail mail 3) Be more spontaneous 4ish) Work out more. The first three have been successfully met. The fourth has as well, but well all know how that goes.

I’ve posted on facebook that I want to send mail out this year and if anyone wants a letter they should send me their addresses. It’s been incredible the amount of addresses I’ve received. What’s just as incredible is the people who have asked for a letter. Side note: I’ve made a rule that whoever sends an address gets a letter, no skipping it just because I don’t want to write to them. There are people that I’ve only said hello to, people I haven’t spoken to in years, people I never thought would enter my life again. What their motivations are I’m not sure, but I can tell you it’s been interesting writing these letters.

I’m trying to make these as thoughtful and meaningful as I can. Not just a short little note full of small talk. It’s forced me to learn to be genuinely interested in the other person’s life. It’s difficult; your first instinct when writing to someone is to update them on your life. I don’t want these letters to be the annual Christmas card. Sure there’s a small paragraph, but this letter is more about the receiving end; let the person know what they mean to me, how they’ve influenced my life, encourage them. It’s not easy, but incredibly so it’s drifted into my everyday life. It’s amazing what you learn about people when you actually stop focusing on what you have to say.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Envelopes and Stamps. Remember those? at Perspective on Pop Culture.

meta

